Comparison
Catering Funnels vs Fooda
Fooda puts your food inside an office building for a two-hour lunch popup. Catering Funnels builds the corporate catering pipeline you own. Here is how the two models actually differ.
Fooda is not a catering marketplace. It is a workplace dining program: restaurants cook offsite, bring food into an office or facility, and serve it as a popup for roughly a two-hour lunch window. Restaurants are paid through Fooda rather than by the employees they serve. Fooda does not publicly disclose its commission percentage. Its provider terms reference a separate Commissions Addendum that is not published, so the only rate anyone can quote with confidence is the payment processing schedule. Catering Funnels is a different thing entirely: a flat monthly system for booking corporate catering directly, where you own the client and there is no per-order cut.
The 30-second verdict
You have kitchen capacity sitting idle at lunch, you can produce roughly 70 or more meals for a single midday service, and you want a recurring reason to cook volume without doing any selling. Fooda finds the offices and handles the demand side.
You want corporate accounts that call you directly, order on your terms, and stay yours. Flat monthly cost, no per-order commission, and every contact lives in your CRM rather than a platform's.
How much does Fooda charge restaurants?
Fooda does not publicly disclose its commission rate. Its published provider terms define "Commission(s)" but point to a separate Commissions Addendum that is not published, so any specific percentage circulating online should be treated as unverified. What Fooda does publish is a payment processing schedule: approximately 3.5% plus $0.15 on mobile and online transactions, 1.75% plus $0.25 for in-person transactions, and 1.95% plus $0.25 on delivery and catering transactions, along with a site management fee of approximately 1.5% when Fooda supplies the serviceware rather than the provider. Fooda's marketing states that 75% or more of every dollar flows back to the restaurant, which is a first-party claim and a floor rather than a rate card. Your own signed addendum has the number that applies to you.
Because the commission is not disclosed, the honest way to evaluate Fooda is on contribution margin per service rather than on a headline percentage. Take your realistic meal count for a location, multiply by your average per-meal price, subtract food cost, subtract the labor hours for transport, setup, service, and breakdown, then subtract whatever your addendum specifies. If the result covers the opportunity cost of those staff hours, the program works. For comparison, Catering Funnels charges a flat monthly subscription. Delivery is $747 a month whether you book one corporate order or one hundred, and no percentage of any order is deducted before you are paid.
How does Fooda work for restaurants?
Fooda partners with employers to run food service inside their offices and facilities. Restaurants join as providers, get scheduled into specific workplace locations, prepare the food at their own kitchen, transport it to the site, and serve it as a popup for roughly a two-hour lunch period. Employees buy individually through Fooda's app, kiosk, or in person, and Fooda pays the restaurant afterward on a weekly Thursday cycle running about two weeks behind service. Fooda's published guidance points to needing roughly 70 meals per day for a location to justify the trip, and no volume is guaranteed.
The important distinction is that Fooda is a workplace dining program, not a catering marketplace. It does not source catering orders in the way ezCater does. You are not quoting a headcount to a buyer and delivering trays; you are running a temporary service counter inside someone else's building. That means the operational demands are different too. You need staff who can leave the restaurant, a transport plan that holds temperature and quality, and enough production capacity to cover a busy service and a slow one equally, because you commit the food before you know the turnout.
Side-by-side
| Feature | Fooda | Catering Funnels |
|---|---|---|
| What it actually is | Workplace popup dining program. You serve onsite at an office for roughly a two-hour window. | Direct corporate catering pipeline. Orders come to you, delivered or set up on your schedule. |
| Pricing model | Commission plus processing fees. The commission percentage is not publicly disclosed in Fooda's published terms. | Flat monthly subscription, no per-order cut |
| Disclosed processing fees | Per Fooda's published provider terms: 3.5% + $0.15 mobile and online, 1.75% + $0.25 in person, 1.95% + $0.25 delivery and catering, plus a 1.5% site management fee when Fooda supplies serviceware. Your addendum governs. | Your own merchant processing, at your own negotiated rate |
| Volume commitment | No guaranteed volume. Fooda's own guidance points to needing roughly 70 meals a day to make a visit worthwhile. | You set minimums, and you enforce them |
| Customer ownership | Fooda's provider terms state the agent owns transaction data collected through its website, apps, and POS, and include an 18-month post-termination non-solicit. | You own every contact, order history, and menu preference |
| Labor model | You staff the popup. Someone leaves the restaurant, travels, sets up, serves, and breaks down. | Drop and go, or full setup, whatever you already do for catering |
| Order size | Many small individual purchases across one service | One buyer, one invoice, one delivery |
| Long-term economics | Cost scales with every meal you serve, indefinitely | Cost is fixed regardless of how much you book |
Workplace popup dining program. You serve onsite at an office for roughly a two-hour window.
Direct corporate catering pipeline. Orders come to you, delivered or set up on your schedule.
Commission plus processing fees. The commission percentage is not publicly disclosed in Fooda's published terms.
Flat monthly subscription, no per-order cut
Per Fooda's published provider terms: 3.5% + $0.15 mobile and online, 1.75% + $0.25 in person, 1.95% + $0.25 delivery and catering, plus a 1.5% site management fee when Fooda supplies serviceware. Your addendum governs.
Your own merchant processing, at your own negotiated rate
No guaranteed volume. Fooda's own guidance points to needing roughly 70 meals a day to make a visit worthwhile.
You set minimums, and you enforce them
Fooda's provider terms state the agent owns transaction data collected through its website, apps, and POS, and include an 18-month post-termination non-solicit.
You own every contact, order history, and menu preference
You staff the popup. Someone leaves the restaurant, travels, sets up, serves, and breaks down.
Drop and go, or full setup, whatever you already do for catering
Many small individual purchases across one service
One buyer, one invoice, one delivery
Cost scales with every meal you serve, indefinitely
Cost is fixed regardless of how much you book
Where Fooda shines
Fooda solves a real problem, and it solves it in a way a catering funnel does not. Three things it genuinely does well:
It fills idle kitchen capacity
Most restaurants have production headroom at lunch. Fooda turns that headroom into a scheduled, repeatable cook without any selling, marketing, or account management on your side. If your line is quiet at 11am, that is real money on the table and Fooda is a direct way to capture it.
Access to workplaces you cannot cold-call into
Fooda holds the relationship with the employer. Getting a food service arrangement inside a large corporate office or a hospital campus on your own is slow and often requires vendor approval, insurance review, and procurement sign-off. Fooda has already cleared that path.
Direct exposure to hundreds of potential customers
A popup is marketing that pays for itself. Employees taste your food, learn your name, and some of them become regular guests or the person who picks the caterer for their next team lunch. That brand exposure has value beyond the day's receipts.
Where Catering Funnels wins
Fooda rents you access to a lunch crowd. Catering Funnels builds you a corporate client list. Three structural differences:
One buyer beats seventy transactions
A Fooda service is dozens of small individual purchases that end when the popup packs up. A booked corporate catering order is one decision-maker, one invoice, and a relationship you can call again next month. The revenue per hour of labor is not close.
You own the contact, and the terms
Fooda's published provider terms state that the agent owns transaction data collected through its website, apps, and point of sale systems, and they include an 18-month non-solicit after termination. With direct booking, the corporate contact is in your CRM, and nothing about your access to that client depends on a platform agreement.
No travel, no popup labor, no guaranteed-nothing risk
Popups require sending staff and food offsite with no committed volume. A slow day is a loss you absorb. Direct catering orders are confirmed and paid against a real headcount before anything leaves your kitchen.
Who should pick which
- Have real idle production capacity during the lunch daypart
- Can staff an offsite popup without pulling people off a busy line
- Can reliably produce and transport roughly 70 or more meals for one service
- Want workplace volume and brand exposure without doing any selling
- Would rather book one 100-person order than serve 100 individual transactions
- Want corporate contacts stored in your own system, not a platform's
- Already field catering inquiries and lose some of them to slow follow-up
- Are building corporate catering as a long-term asset rather than a side channel
These are not mutually exclusive, and the combination is often the smartest play. Use Fooda to monetize idle lunch capacity and get in front of employees at a workplace, then use Catering Funnels to convert the office managers and executive assistants you meet there into direct catering accounts you own.
Common questions
Catering Funnels vs Fooda: questions we get
How does Fooda work for restaurants?
Fooda schedules your restaurant into workplace locations it has relationships with. You cook at your own kitchen, transport the food to the office, and serve it as a popup for roughly a two-hour lunch window. Employees purchase individually through Fooda's app, kiosk, or in person, and Fooda pays you afterward on a weekly Thursday cycle that runs about two weeks behind service. Fooda's current published provider terms are the source of truth for your agreement.
How much does Fooda charge restaurants?
Fooda does not publish its commission rate. Its provider terms define a commission but reference a separate Commissions Addendum that is not publicly available, so specific percentages quoted elsewhere online are unverified. Fooda does publish processing fees of approximately 3.5% plus $0.15 for mobile and online orders, 1.75% plus $0.25 in person, and 1.95% plus $0.25 for delivery and catering, plus a roughly 1.5% site management fee when Fooda supplies serviceware. Your signed addendum has your actual rate.
Is Fooda worth it for restaurants?
It depends on whether you have idle lunch capacity and can hit volume. Fooda's own guidance points to roughly 70 meals a day as the threshold that makes a location worth the trip, and no volume is guaranteed. If you can hit that consistently and the staff hours for transport and service are not pulling people off a profitable line, it converts dead capacity into revenue. If you are already running at capacity at lunch, the math is much harder.
Is Fooda a catering marketplace like ezCater?
No, and this is the most common misunderstanding. ezCater is a marketplace where corporate buyers search for catering, place an order, and you deliver trays for an event. Fooda is a workplace dining program where you physically serve a popup lunch inside an office and employees buy individually. Different revenue model, different labor requirement, different customer. Compare the two directly on our ezCater comparison.
Does Fooda guarantee how many meals I will sell?
No. Fooda's model does not guarantee volume at a given location. You commit the food and the staff hours before you know the turnout, which means a slow service is a loss you absorb. That risk profile is the main practical difference from a booked catering order, where the headcount is confirmed and paid before you cook.
Do I keep the customer relationship with Fooda?
Not in the contractual sense. Fooda's published provider terms state that the agent owns the transaction data collected through its website, mobile apps, and point of sale systems, and they include an 18-month non-solicit period after termination. You get valuable brand exposure to the employees who eat your food, but the account relationship with the employer sits with Fooda. Read your own agreement, since terms change.
Can I use Fooda and Catering Funnels at the same time?
Yes, and it is a sensible combination. Fooda fills idle lunch production and puts your food in front of hundreds of office workers. Catering Funnels handles the outbound and the follow-up that turns some of those workplaces into direct catering accounts you invoice yourself. The two solve different problems and do not conflict.
What is the best alternative to Fooda for a restaurant?
It depends what you are actually trying to replace. If you want another workplace meal program, Sharebite and ZeroCater both serve employers with recurring meal benefits and managed food programs. If you want catering order volume rather than popup service, ezCater is the largest corporate catering marketplace. If you want to stop paying a per-transaction cut and build direct corporate accounts, a flat-rate system like Catering Funnels is the structural alternative.
Not sure whether popups or direct catering fit your kitchen?
30-minute strategy call. No pitch. We will look at your lunch capacity, your labor picture, and your corporate catering potential, and tell you honestly which model earns more per hour.
Book a free strategy callNot ready to talk yet? Read the guide to getting corporate catering clients first.